Family Tales · Mom Tales · Wife Tales

So, We Own A Puppy.

Yes, we have added to our family. We have welcomed an adorable 11 week old cavanese puppy named Dobby to our family. Are we crazy? Yes. I mean I think we are. With a two year old, 3 cats, still trying to finish putting our house together, why not add a puppy to the mix.

I guess I’ll explain that first and foremost, this was not a spur of the moment decision. With Arthur and I coming from having dog backgrounds, me more cats, we knew what we were getting into. We’ve been talking about getting a dog before even moving to Minnesota. Our apartment in Illinois didn’t allow dogs so we knew we would be able to once we moved out here. We didn’t get a dog right away because I didn’t want to have to potty train in the winter. That would just be mean to a puppy…and myself.

And mostly, we waited til we were more prepared to own a dog. Being new to the area and getting use to everything is still a process, but after being here for almost 8 months, I’m more comfortable being out with London and bringing a puppy with.

It’s been almost a full 48 hours, and I’m exhausted. Having a puppy is literally having another child. But we’ve somehow made it through two mornings, and only 2 accidents from Dobby in the house. So I think I’m doing something right.

Exhausted or not, wondering what else I need to do for Dobby, I don’t think I’ve ever seen London so happy. She loves waking up and seeing her puppy each morning, helping us feed him, playing in the yard with him, and her favorite, getting a good night hug from him. 

Here’s to hopefully a not even crazier household…with a puppy added to the mix.

Leave a Reply

