Mom Tales

Besties Turned Mesties

Mestie will forever be a special word in my life, which almost no one will get except for my Mestie, Leah. 

A little over 5 years ago, Leah and I started following each other on Twitter. Which turned into Instagram, which turned into Facebook, Snapchat, texts, and mailing each other gift boxes. 

Leah has my social media bestie through almost every huge moment of my life. My wedding, my kidney transplant, having London, and moving to Minnesota. We’ve talked everyday for the past 5 years, we’ve had inside jokes and stupid conversations on multiple social platforms at the same time. We always said ” when we finally meet….” and it finally happened last week.

Yes, after 5 years and convincing her family that I was in fact a real person, Leah flew out to Minnesota from the East coast and spent a week here!

We had the entire week planned out, plus room to finally just be real life friends. And the coolest part about this, was that it wasn’t even awkward. Let’s thrown in right now, that this was the first time we actually had real conversations and I heard an easy coast accent. 

We did the usual Mall of America trips, Wild Rumpus Book Store, the Eagan Outlet Mall, the Zoos, and of course visiting Prince’s house. As per London’s request we ate at Bubba Gump, and shockingly we were able to eat at different places like the 5-8 Club and the Rainforest Cafe. 



One of the nights, we were able to go out to Downtown Minneapolis with a few people and go to Up-Down bar, which is by far one of the coolest bars ever. This bar is literally filled with every arcade game you can thing of plus giant Jenga and Connect 4 and a giant projector screen to play N64. We spent most of the night playing skee ball. No complaints, minus coming home at 4:30 in the morning.

This week was literally a week of firsts for Leah. It was her first time flying, her first time having real Mexican food, her first Vegas bomb, and her first tattoo. Of course we got matching bestie tattoos. 

But let’s get to the good stuff, the best part of this trip, the part where we will always laugh, uncontrollably, the part that was almost the highlight of her being here. And go figure, it was being of Arthur. If you already know, you know where this is going and you know how hard I’m already laughing and I’m hoping I can type this without missing a few words.

So if you don’t know, Arthur recently got a motorcycle. He let me get a puppy so I had no real say. I don’t mind actually, except he told me he knew how to ride. I’ve never heard of him riding a motorcycle let alone have seen him ride. So last week, he came home real quick and decided it was a good day to ride back to the shop. We live about 4 miles from the shop, so not super far, unless you’re trying to ride a motorcycle…you’ve never been on before.

Arthur gets set up, and Leah and I both looked at each other like “something is going to happen.” So we decided to watch to make sure he gets going ok, plus it was the first time he would be riding the bike. At this point, the bike has been running for a little bit, he sits down, and the bike stalls. Then shuts off. He starts it again, it moves forward a little bit then stalls. And this point, we all knew he shouldn’t even do this, because he had yet to take his riding classes. 

So finally the bike is on, and he gets going, a little wobbly but he’s going. We living in a cul-de-sac, and the way to go to the shop is to turn right. Our neighbors had a truck on the street blocking our full view of Arthur, but we were waiting to see him turn. I stepped out into the street to see why he wasn’t turning. And that’s when we saw him…in the grass. 

At this point I was freaking out, Leah didn’t know what to do except hold London’s hand while I ran to see if he was ok. Mind you, he was only one house down, so I wasn’t running blocks. He was trying to turn around before getting on a street with through traffic, and instead of switching gears and braking, he reved and ended up over the curb and in the lawn. Now after he got the bike back on the street and to our house, with the help of someone doing their nightly walk, he said he was ok, and decided to wait til his riding class to try riding again, that’s when me and Leah lost it and had joke after joke. It’s been almost a week this happened, and I still can’t control myself when I think about it or tell the story. 

And that’s the lawn he ripped up.

Side note – he has not tried to ride his bike since, but had taken his class and passed.

Once our week had come to an end, it was sadder to say goodbye than we thought. It’s not like we live close enough to drive to each other for a weekend. I’ve always said she is literally the East coast me. From movies and books, to our opinions on almost everything, there’s a reason why we were besties for so long. 
I can’t be honest and say I was the saddest to have her leave. London was heartbroken because London claimed Leah as her new bestie the day she got here. I don’t think I’ve ever seen my daughter so sad to not have someone at the house anymore. 

Having to go back to reality with Leah gone was sad but at the same time she left me with so many memories, laughs, pictures, and took a little piece of me and London back home with her. I feel lucky to have had the chance to meet her and spend a week becoming Mesties. We may be far apart, but I’m so glad social media brought us together. 

Leave a Reply

