Family Tales · Mom Tales

Girls Road Trip.

One of my goals this month was to do something I’ve never done before. I decided to go back to Chicago for a few days with London. My parents hasn’t seen her since April, I wasn’t feeling like I was in a good spot in Minnesota, mainly because I was missing my friends in Chicago, and I needed my hair done. Yes, I’m that person who travels 300 plus miles to get her hair done.

My parents had no idea I was even coming in, thanks to the technology of Facebook, o was able to make plans with a few people and not let my parents know. Shout out to being able to block people from seeing my posts. 

London has driven with us back and forth to Chicago twice now, but this was the first time it was just going to be me and her alone. Arthur stayed in Minnesota to hang with Dobby. Scary? Absolutely. But isn’t life about doing something that scares us? To be able to look back and say ” Yea I totally did that.” Not to look back and think ” I wish I would have done it when I had the chance?”

Our drive there was scary but so much fun, thanks to our Spotify playlist, we listened to everything from Motley Crue, to afi, to the Goofy Movie soundtrack. Considering it was already a 6 hour drive, add an extra hour for having to stop for diapers, we made great time. 

The first surprise was to my mom who was working. If you’re friends with me on Facebook then I’m sure you saw the video of use surprising her. Same with my dad. It was the coolest thing to be able to do, and I’ll never be able to pull that off again because it was already hard enough to keep a secret like that. 

Originally we were supposed to stay til Thursday morning, but we ended up leaving Tuesday afternoon after London had gotten sick. We made the most of our time, missed out on a few things. But a mini get away way exactly what I needed. 

We’re definitely blessed to have the option to go back to Chicago basically whenever we want. Maybe within a few more trips I’ll figure out how to pack us up without bringing every single thing we own. I’ve accepted I’m a very heavy packer.

So our first summer adventure was a success, shortened but still a success. But it’s time to get back to the real world, until it’s time for Vegas for a girls weekend!

One thought on “Girls Road Trip.

  1. Yay! I’m so glad you ladies had a fun get away. Thanks for posting your story. New adventures can be scary but you’re right it shouldnt stop you. Btw I drive an hour and half to my hair dresser (we moved a year ago). I can not let her go so I get you wanting to see yours back. Lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

